jump to navigation

new notebook Thinpad Edge E520 on Linux (part1) September 5, 2012

Posted by hackandfab in Uncategorized.
trackback

I received a new Thinkpad E520 from my employer 🙂 but I had to reinstall all the packages on Ubuntu so I did:

dpkg-query -W -f '${status} ${package} ${version}\n'|
sed -n ' s/^install ok installed //p '

To obtain a list of installed packages.  I then used sudo on tar because I had some files as root and then copied them over ssh.

sudo tar -cvf allmyhome.tar ./
scp allmyhome.tar username@notebookip:/home/username

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

